Cameron Tringale was disqualified from the PGA Championship on Friday for one of the most painful of reasons.
He signed a wrong scorecard.
The error wasn’t discovered when a snitch spotted something on TV — that doesn’t happen anymore. To his credit, he self-reported the mistake at TPC Harding Park after he realized it.
But per golf’s rules, that credit doesn’t earn him much beyond a pat on the back. A clerical error resulted in Tringale being disqualified from a major.
Tringale recognized mistake over lunch
According to Golf Digest, Tringale realized the mistake while checking the leaderboard on his phone as he ate lunch after his round. Sitting at 1-over par after two rounds — or so he thought — Tringale was sweating the cut line.
When he realized that he signed for a 3 on the par 3 eighth hole instead of the bogey 4 he actually scored, that sweat was over. He reported the error to officials and was promptly disqualified.
If there’s any solace for Tringale, his true score of 2-over doesn’t look good enough to make the weekend anyway.
But having a DQ next to your name can’t be a great feeling — especially when it’s your second.
This sounds familiar
Tringale made a similar mistake at the 2014 PGA Championship at Valhalla. He self-reported then too, just a week later when he believed he missed counting a stroke on a tap-in putt.
“Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded,” Tringale said in 2014.
That mistake proved more costly. His error at Valhalla arrived on a Sunday that concluded with a T-36 finish and a $53,000 payday.
Instead he posted a DQ.
More from Yahoo Sports: